7.8 C
Tuesday, February 27, 2024
HomemusicUnreleased Arthur Russell Songs Compiled for New Album: Listen to “The Boy...

Unreleased Arthur Russell Songs Compiled for New Album: Listen to “The Boy With a Smile”


Related stories


A new album will compile nine previously unreleased Arthur Russell tracks. (Yes, there are even more.) The record, Picture of Bunny Rabbit, is out June 23 via Audika, and you can listen to the lead track below. Like the rest of the record, “The Boy With a Smile” was recorded in 1985 or 1986 at Battery Sound in New York, with additional material recorded in his East Village apartment. It was previously available as a live recording.

Picture of Bunny Rabbit comprises tracks from completed masters found on two test pressings, one provided by Russell’s mother and sister, according to the record’s Bandcamp description. The title track was written for a friend’s pet rabbit.

Russell’s music has been extensively collected and reissued since his death in 1992, at which time he had released just one solo album, World of Echo. Many of his posthumous albums have become retrospective classics. The latest to comprise significant unreleased material was 2019’s Iowa Dream.

Picture of Bunny Rabbit:

01 Fuzzbuster #10
02 Not Checking Up
03 Telling No One
04 Fuzzbuster #06
05 The Boy With a Smile
06 Fuzzbuster #09
07 Very Reason
08 Picture of Bunny Rabbit
09 In the Light of a Miracle

Art direction and design Molly Smith

Source link


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here