4.9 C
Saturday, February 24, 2024
HomemusicSufjan Stevens Releasing Reflections Ballet Score Album

Sufjan Stevens Releasing Reflections Ballet Score Album


Related stories


Sufjan Stevens is releasing his score for the 2019 Justin Peck ballet Reflections. The studio recording was performed by pianists Timo Andres and Conor Hanick. The album is out May 19 via Asthmatic Kitty. Below, watch a video of the pianists playing “Ekstasis.”

Reflections was commissioned by the Houston Ballet and premiered in March 2019. It was written for two pianos and 11 dancers. The studio album—engineered, mixed, and mastered by Ryan Streber at Oktaven Audio—features seven tracks.

Stevens and Justin Peck are frequent collaborators who’ve worked together on 2019’s Principia, 2017’s The Decalogue, 2016’s In the Countenance of Kings, 2014’s Everywhere We Go, and 2012’s Year of the Rabbit. Previously, Stevens and Timo Andres released their soundtrack for The Decalogue.

Refletions will follow Sufjan Stevens’ 2021 releases, Convocations and A Beginner’s Mind.

Revisit “What Ballet Star Justin Peck, Sufjan Stevens’ Go-To Choreographer, Is Listening to Right Now” on the Pitch.


01 Ekstasis
02 Revanche
03 Euphoros
04 Mnemosyne
05 Rodinia
06 Reflexion
07 And I Shall Come to You Like a Stormtrooper in Drag Serving Imperial Realness

Source link


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here